ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Host, Venues and Stadiums

The ICC World Cup 2023 is the biggest championship for men’s One Day International cricket. It’s run by the International Cricket Council (ICC). This tournament is the world’s fourth biggest sporting event, and many people watch it. According to the ICC, it’s the most important tournament in cricket. The first Cricket World Cup was in England in 1975.

In the Cricket World Cup finals, all ten big cricket-playing countries compete, and some other countries can join if they qualify through the World Cup Qualifier. Australia has been the best, winning four times. The West Indies and India have won two times each, and Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won once each.

Overview: ICC World Cup 2023 

ICC World Cup 2023

India will host the Cricket World Cup 2023, which will begin on October 5. There will be a total of 48 matches, including four quarter-finals, two semi-finals, and a final in November. Ten teams will play nine matches each. 

AdministratorInternational Cricket Council
Cricket FormatOne Day International
Selection ProcedureRound-Robin and Knockout
Opening Match5 October 2023
Semi Final 115 November 2023
Semi Final 216 November 2023
Final Match19 November 2023
Participants Teams10
Total Matches played48
Official Websitehttps://www.cricketworldcup.com/

Host, Venues and Stadiums

India will host the 2023 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup from October 5 to November 19, 2023. The tournament will be played in 10 cities across India, including Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai, and Kolkata. The warm-up matches will be played in Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram, and Hyderabad from September 29 to October 3.

ChennaiMA Chidambaram Stadium
New DelhiArun Jaitley Stadium
HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
MumbaiWankhede Stadium
KolkataEden Gardens
AhmedabadNarendra Modi Stadium
DharamshalaHPCA Stadium
LucknowEkana Stadium
BangaloreM. Chinnaswamy Stadium
PuneMCA Stadium

Teams Playing in the ICC World Cup

The 2023 Cricket World Cup qualification allowed cricket teams to earn a spot in the 2023 Cricket World Cup. 32 countries were competing, and only 10 could make it to the World Cup. They split these 32 teams into three groups: Super League, League 2, and Challenge League. Depending on how well they did in these groups, teams could either go directly to the World Cup, get eliminated from qualifying, or go to other tournaments to try and qualify. These tournaments also decided which teams moved up or down between the groups.

To decide which group each team belonged to, they looked at things like their membership status in the ICC, their ODI status, and their rank from the 2017-2019 ICC World Cricket League. After all the consideration, 10 teams qualify for the World Cup.

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Netherlands
  • West Indies
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka


Scedule for ICC world cup 2023

In the 2023 Cricket World Cup, there will be 10 teams that will play against each other in the group stage. They will have a total of 45 matches. The schedule for this tournament was announced on June 27.

To enter the World Cup, the best seven teams out of the 13, plus India as the host country, will get in directly. The other five teams and five Associate teams will have to compete in the ICC World Cup  2023 Qualifier. From there, only two teams will make it to the final tournament.

5 OctoberEngland vs New ZealandAhmedabad1: 30 PM
6 OctoberPakistan vs NetherlandsHyderabad1: 30 PM
7 OctoberBangladesh vs AfghanistanDharamsala10:00 AM
7 OctoberSouth Africa vs Sri LankaDelhi1: 30 PM
8 OctoberIndia vs AustraliaChennai1: 30 PM
9 OctoberNew Zealand vs NetherlandsHyderabad1: 30 PM
10 OctoberEngland vs BangladeshDharamsala10:00 AM
10 OctoberPakistan vs Sri LankaHyderabad1: 30 PM
11 OctoberIndia vs AfghanistanDelhi1: 30 PM
12 OctoberPakistan vs Sri LankaHyderabad1: 30 PM
12 OctoberAustralia vs South AfricaLucknow1: 30 PM
13 OctoberNew Zealand vs BangladeshChennai1: 30 PM
14 OctoberIndia vs PakistanAhmedabad1: 30 PM
15 OctoberEngland vs AfghanistanDelhi1: 30 PM
16 OctoberAustralia vs Sri LankaLucknow1: 30 PM
17 OctoberSouth Africa vs NetherlandsDharamsala1: 30 PM
18 OctoberNew Zealand vs AfghanistanChennai1: 30 PM
19 OctoberIndia vs BangladeshPune1: 30 PM
20 OctoberAustralia vs PakistanBengaluru1: 30 PM
21 OctoberEngland vs South AfricaMumbai10:00 AM
21 OctoberNetherlands vs Sri LankaLucknow1: 30 PM
22 OctoberIndia vs New ZealandDharamsala1: 30 PM
23 OctoberPakistan vs AfghanistanChennai1: 30 PM
24 OctoberSouth Africa vs BangladeshMumbai1: 30 PM
25 OctoberAustralia vs NetherlandsDelhi1: 30 PM
26 OctoberEngland vs Sri LankaBengaluru1: 30 PM
27 OctoberPakistan vs South AfricaChennai1: 30 Pm
28 OctoberNetherlands vs BangladeshKolkata10:00 AM
28 OctoberAustralia vs New ZealandDharamsala1: 30 PM
29 OctoberIndia vs EnglandLucknow1: 30 PM
30 OctoberAfghanistan vs Sri LankaPune1: 30 PM
31 OctoberPakistan vs BangladeshKolkata1: 30 PM
1 NovemberNew Zealand vs South AfricaPune1: 30 PM
2 NovemberIndia vs Sri LankaMumbai1: 30 PM
3 NovemberNetherlands vs AfghanistanLucknow1: 30 PM
4 NovemberEngland vs AustraliaAhmedabad10:00 AM
4 NovemberNew Zealand vs PakistanBengaluru1: 30 PM
5 NovemberIndia vs South AfricaKolkata1: 30 PM
6 NovemberBangladesh vs Sri LankaDelhi1: 30 PM
7 NovemberAustralia vs AfghanistanMumbai1: 30 PM
8 NovemberEngland vs NetherlandsPune1: 30 PM
9 NovemberNew Zealand vs Sri LankaBengaluru1: 30 PM
10 NovemberSouth Africa vs AfghanistanAhmedabad1: 30 PM
11 NovemberAustralia vs BangladeshPune1: 30 PM
11 NovemberEngland vs. PakistanKolkata10:00 AM
12 NovemberIndia v NetherlandsBengaluru1: 30 PM
15 NovemberSemifinal 1Mumbai1: 30 PM
16 NovemberSemifinal 2Kolkata1: 30 PM
19 NovemberFinalsAhmedabad1: 30 PM

Also, Check Our Blog: Pakistan Railway Announced a 10% Increase in Railway Fares


When will Cricket World Cup 2023 begin?

ICC World Cup 2023 will begin on October 5, 2023. The initial match will be between England and New Zealand, which will be played in Ahmedabad, India, at 1.30 pm.

Where is the ICC 2023 World Cup schedule?

World Cup 2023 will be solely scheduled in different cities of India. You can check the whole schedule in this blog.

Which stadiums will host the 2023 World Cup?

Stadiums where the World Cup will held include, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Arun Jaitley Stadium, Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Wankhede Stadium, Eden Gardens, Narendra Modi Stadium, HPCA Stadium, Ekana Stadium, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, and MCA Stadium.

How many teams will participate in the 2023 tournament this year?

Ten teams will participate in the ICC World Cup 2023, including England, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Netherlands, West Indies, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.


Spread the love

Leave a Comment